A Boom in the Night

I live in Alabama where we don’t have extremely cold winters. Summer is extremely hot and humid. Winter is usually mild with a few cold snaps. Last week, we had one of those cold snaps, where the night time temperature was below 10 degrees F. That is very cold for Alabama. We rarely have any measurable amount of snow; but, this month we have had snow twice. Records were broken in some areas of North Alabama.

As I sat in my den, with a roaring fire and a blanket, I heard a roaring sound. It sounded a little like thunder, or maybe a plane flying very low. The night was clear so I knew it was not thunder. I didn’t see any planes but I was sure one was about to crash in my neighborhood, maybe even on my house. My dogs were growling and pacing. This roaring sound went on and on. I sat there, waiting patiently for the plane to crash or for the end of the world. I was ready to go with God. I was ready to be in Heaven with my son. So, I was not scared as I waited. I prayed and I waited. It was not the end of the world and a plane did not crash on my house. I was disappointed. Three years ago, I would have been running for cover, and would have thought of many ways to survive because my son needed me. Now, he does not need me. So, that night, I was ready and willing to go. It is a strange feeling when you realize that death has no hold over you, when you have no fear of death, no longing to keep living, no regrets. In some ways, I find it very comforting to know that death does not have a grip on me. But, I freely admit that I would much rather have my son here on earth and be wanting to stay around for him.

I am sure you are wondering what the roaring sound was. I found out the next day that it was a cryoseismic boom,also called a “frost quake” caused by the rapid expansion of water underground. People all over the area were talking about it. I was not alone in thinking a plane was flying very low and about to crash. I was alone, however, in being ready to leave this earthly life.

3 thoughts on “A Boom in the Night

Leave a Reply

